Monday, February 14, 2022

Time: 3.5h


  • Removed Rivet Nut that was damaged during installation. Didn't realize it was damaged until I tried to put a screw in, it then got tight and stuck when backing it out. That turned into a big job!
  • Finished installing rivnuts for all floor board mounts
  • Checked to ensure we have matching pairs for horizontal stab, elevator, wing tips and window frames
  • Played with the door a little, created (but did not install) the latch

Photo Stream

Drilling out a rivnut

Out of 48, 5 were bad, those 5 were within the first 10 that I pulled. I made a few adjustments to the rivet nut gun (lightened up the pull) and the remaining 38 were all fine.

Drilling out a rivnut

All rivnuts for the floor boards are installed!

I placed a screw in each rivnut by hand. If it didn't go in by hand, I removed the rivnut and pulled another. One of the bad rivnut's that I had I could not remove the screw. It began dragging and then backing it back out was nearly impossible. In fact, I broke a screw in half twisting it back out. I had to drill for a while on that one.

All rivnuts for the floor boards are installed!

Completed Rivnut Install

Completed Rivnut Install

Just scoping out the door and window frames

Looking for a short task. We received two left pilot rudder pedals, so wanted to just double check other paired parts since a truck is coming in soon.

Just scoping out the door and window frames

How does the door latch work?

Curiosity got the best of us. We did a little assembly, just enough to see how it works.

How does the door latch work?

Check for left and right window frames

Check for left and right window frames